Wednesday , March 27 2019
Home / News / Iran go for three in a row in Asian Senior Men’s Championship at home

Iran go for three in a row in Asian Senior Men’s Championship at home

Tehran, Iran, July 28, 2015 – A total of 16 strong teams have confirmed their participation for the 18th Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship from July 31 to August 8 at Azadi Indoor Stadium.
However, this top-flight competition has nothing to do with the qualification for the 2016 Rio Games as FIVB have already decided to use world ranking for teams to compete at the Olympic qualification tournaments including the World Cup and the World Olympic Qualification Tournament, both to be held in Japan.
According to the FIVB’s rules and regulations, Asian teams holding the best two world rankings (Iran and Australia) plus hosts Japan have already qualified for the World Cup, while the Asian teams holding the best three world rankings (Iran, Australia and Korea) plus hosts Japan are likely to make the cut for the next year’s World Olympic Qualification Tournament, from which the best Asian team will book their berth at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. The top three teams except the best Asian side will also be eligible for the Rio Games.
The prestigious Asian Championship in Iran will serve as the qualification tournament for the next year’s AVC Cup for Men, which is due to take place between September 14 and 20 in India. Top 8 teams from the Asian meet in Iran will make the cut for the AVC Cup.
Title-holders and hosts Iran, Kazakhstan, Kuwait and Chinese Taipei are in Pool A, while Pool B comprises Australia, India, Turkmenistan and Qatar. Pool C consists of Korea, Thailand, Pakistan and Oman, with China, Japan, Sri Lanka and Bahrain in Pool D.
Azadi Indoor Stadium, Hall 1 with 12,000 seating capacity and the 3,500-seater Hall 2, will be used as the two competition venues.
The preliminary round will be held on July 31, with Oman taking on Korea, followed by the match between Pakistan and Thailand, China versus Sri Lanka and Kuwait versus Iran, all at Hall 1.
The other first-day encounters at Hall 2 see Chinese Taipei play Kazakhstan, India take on Turkmenistan, Qatar challenge Australia and Japan meet Bahrain.
The biennial Asian Championship made its debut in 1975 in Melbourne, Australia, where Japan toppled the other continental counterparts to reign supreme.
A total of 17 editions have already been held, with Japan taking the lion’s share of seven titles, followed respectively by Korea (4), China (3), Iran (2) and Australia (1).
In the previous episode two years ago in Dubai, the UAE, Iran crushed Korea in straight sets to successfully retain their title. China powered past Japan 3-1 in the third-place playoff to win take home the bronze medal.
Pool A: Iran, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Chinese Taipei
Pool B: Australia, India, Turkmenistan, Qatar
Pool C: Korea, Thailand, Pakistan, Oman
Pool D: China, Japan, Sri Lanka, Bahrain
MATCH SCHEDULE (all local times) at Azadi Indoor Stadium
July 31
Hall 1
1pm: Oman v Korea
3pm: Thailand v Pakistan
5pm: China v Sri Lanka
7pm: Kuwait v Iran
Hall 2
1pm: Chinese Taipei v Kazakhstan
3pm: India v Turkmenistan
5pm: Qatar v Australia
7pm: Japan v Bahrain
August 1
Hall 1
1pm: Turkmenistan v Australia
3pm: Korea v Thailand
5pm: China v Japan
7pm: Kazakhstan v Iran
Hall 2
1pm: Oman v Pakistan
3pm: Chinese Taipei v Kuwait
5pm: India v Qatar
7pm: Sri Lanka v Bahrain
August 2
Hall 1
1pm: Korea v Pakistan
3pm: Thailand v Oman
5pm: Bahrain v China
7pm: Iran v Chinese Taipei
Hall 2
1pm: Turkmenistan v Qatar
3pm: Australia v India
5pm: Kazakhstan v Kuwait
7pm: Sri Lanka v Japan

About admin

Check Also

Iran thank all their fans supporting them inside the Azadi Sport Complex Hall 1.

Iran, Korea, China, Qatar keep hopes on winning the Asian crown alive with unbeaten run

  Tehran, Iran, August 3, 2015 – Reigning successive two-time champions Iran, the only team ...